novacool refrigerator-freezer

Post here if you want to discuss a topic specific to the MV/32, MV/34, and MV/41.
Post Reply
lschut
deckhand
deckhand
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 6:11 pm
Location: still pond, maryland
Contact:

novacool refrigerator-freezer

Post by lschut »

I have a 12 volt novacool in my PDQ 34, that works only sometimes. I had the refrigerant check and is ok.
If I take the unit out, it works well.
Do I need more ventilation? Any other ideas?

Allezcat
admiral
admiral
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 9:29 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, Fl 33955

Post by Allezcat »

Allezcat (36010) also uses a Novacool with the old R-12 refrigerant. Two yrs ago the unit failed ocassionally where the condenser fan would start but not the compressor. After checking refrigerant, power supply, cleaning condenser grill, etc., I was out of ideas. Lee Henderson then donated his old removed Novakool to the cause. I replaced my circuit control board with his and VOILA! , it has worked perfectly ever since.

Chet

User avatar
Mishigas
admiral
admiral
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:17 pm
Location: Selby Bay, Edgewater Maryland

Post by Mishigas »

We are going thru the same issue with our Nova Kool unit. It works occasionally. Had the electrician and the fridge folks on board and they can't pin it down. Sounds like it's time to try a new control board.
Sandy Kramer MV-MISHIGAS HULL 68

lschut
deckhand
deckhand
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 6:11 pm
Location: still pond, maryland
Contact:

refrigerator

Post by lschut »

Mishigas wrote:We are going thru the same issue with our Nova Kool unit. It works occasionally. Had the electrician and the fridge folks on board and they can't pin it down. Sounds like it's time to try a new control board.
Sa
ndy Kramer MV-MISHIGAS HULL 68
Hello Sandy: I went trough the same routine, with no help.

Today, I called the factory, and they told me that is unlikely to be the electronic board, They suggested changing the resistor that goes from the termostat to the board[lower on].
I will try that and see what happens.

Luis

Post Reply