Installation of AIS receiver

Post here if you want to discuss a topic specific to the MV/32, MV/34, and MV/41.
John&Ria
admiral
admiral

Installation of AIS receiver

Post by John&Ria »

Having recently shipped His Idea to the Pacific Northwest, where fog is more common, I decided to supplement our radar with AIS receiving capability. The unit I purchased is an ICOM MXA-5000. It provides for use of the VHF antenna for receiving AIS signals by placing the unit between the antenna and the VHF radio. I plan to connect it with our Raymarine chartplotter so the AIS icons will be displayed there.

The connections appear simple enough, however with the chartplotter mounted behind the helm - also the logical place to mount the AIS unit - and the VHF radio mounted at the ceiling, it looks like I will need to purchase two fairly lengthy (10') coaxial cables for connection to the antenna/radio.

As I am a perpetual rookie when it comes to electronics, before embarking on this project I thought I would canvas forum members to see if anyone else has already mastered a similar job - particularly if it is on a later model PDQ 34 with the VHF mounted high - and might have some useful installation advice.

Thanks.

John
jgonnerman
skipper
skipper

Re: Installation of AIS receiver

Post by jgonnerman »

i recently installed a AIS reciever although in my case I bought a Standard Horizon VHF and had to figure out how to get an older Raymarine E120 to work with just a single nema 0183 input at 38K and still get the other Raymarine transducers to work.

Of course one way for your setup to work is to route RG 58 cable. I would place the AIS unit close to the chartplotter and run the RG 58 up to the VHF or vice versa depending on which type of cable is the cheapest per foot. VHF connectors can be either soldered or solder-less.