Anchoring a Cat...Correctly

PDQ issues applicable across all PDQ Yachts (or if you can't find a place for something, it probably belongs here for now)
Mishigas
admiral
admiral

Anchoring a Cat...Correctly

Post by Mishigas »

I am new to Cat ownership and will be taking delivery of hull#68 in May. I understand that it is often recomended that when anchoring, the use of a "bridal" line running from each sponson should be used to even out the anchor pull and keep the swing under control. Is this the truth and is it always necessary? Any tips or pointers anchoring cats are appreciated as we are planning on doing many nites on the hook this season. Thanks in advance... Sandy MISHIGAS MV34
Dan White
admiral
admiral

Anchoring

Post by Dan White »

Not sure if it's required, but I ALWAYS use a bridle overnight. Only takes a few minutes, (once I remember how to tie a rolling hitch.)

If a storm is forecast I use 2 anchors, neither on bridles.

If we are going for a swim, or lunch, etc, I just use one anchor with no bridle.
Half Moon 36073
deckhand
deckhand

Anchoring a cat

Post by Half Moon 36073 »

In the interest of sloth, I stopped using a bridle. Now I have to justify this unseamanlike behavior. Justification 1. If I had to raise anchor and get underway in an emergency situation I have one less line and rolling hitch to dismantle. Justification 2. If quartering the waves is more comfortable, why not quarter them at anchor? Being overtaken by a line squall from astern, I once anchored to ride out the blow...using the starboard CQR only. It was comfortable and I was not aware of radical "sailing" back and forth as in a monohull. I would be interested in others experiences. Alex Kehayes 36073.
Leadfree
1st mate
1st mate

leadfree

Post by Leadfree »

We cruise in the Bahamas for the winter and always anchor with a bridle, and never with 2 anchors in the last 5 years, especially in a storm. My fear would be a wind shift and then one would have tangled anchor lines.