Ground Tackle

Post here if you want to discuss a topic specific to the PDQ Capella.
carib sailor
1st mate
1st mate

Ground Tackle

Post by carib sailor »

Just wondering what everyone carries for ground tackle?
Last edited by carib sailor on Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Loki
skipper
skipper

Re: Ground Tackle

Post by Loki »

I have a Delta 35 with 50' chain and its never let us down. A few weeks ago it held nicely in 40+ kts t'storm while the boat next to us drag a CQR around the anchorage. We carry a Fortress FX-23 as a secondary on the other bow, with 20' of chain. I share your opinion about resetting, but its not that much of an issue when using two anchors off the bows, or a lunch hook. Also, a Fortress in the "mud" setting is probably the best in soft mud.

I know many people claim "bigger is always better," but I've been using Delta's (a smaller one on my last boat) for about 15 years and they have never dragged after being set on a good bottom. I'm not convinced a bigger hook does that much better in bad conditions, like soft mud or grass. In a large blow, I'd probably be happy to pull a folded up large Fortress out of the bilge and use it with the the two bow anchors.

One thing, if the windlass fails (or should I say when), you won't think "bigger is better."
Jeff Morris, Loki 36072
Tanah-Keeta
admiral
admiral

Post by Tanah-Keeta »

When I first bought Tanah Keeta (36089), it came with a 35 lb CQR and 25 ft of chain. I found out fairly quickly that 60 ft of chain was better. I had to use a 15 lb. kellet on the 25 ft chain to keep the rode from wrapping my keels. The extra length of chain resolved the problem. As to the anchor... my back up was a 35 lb Delta. I have equal confidence in the CQR and the Delta. The CQR was always my primary anchor with the delta being used as secondary for current situations.
Ron McDaniel
TK III 34108
chicagocat
admiral
admiral

Post by chicagocat »