Catch 22

Post here if you want to discuss a topic specific to the MV/32, MV/34, and MV/41.
John&Ria
admiral
admiral

Catch 22

Post by John&Ria »

We are currently in the break-in period for a new 6kw Northern Lights generator . The manual strongly recommends a draw of at least 25-35 amps (50 to 70 percent load) for the first 100 hours of operation. Our Catch-22 situation is that the charging system appears to limit the charging rate to the batteries to only 8 amps if the overall load on the generator goes over 22 amps. As mentioned this is significantly less than what is recommended to properly break in the generator. I can get to the 25 to 35 amp range by running various systems (e.g A/C, auxiliary heaters, etc.), but charging the batteries alone, even at bulk charge rates, only puts a load of about 5 amps on the generator.

Perhaps the inverter can be adjusted to address this situation? I’m a novice when it comes to electrical matters, so I’m seeking the collective wisdom of this forum before sourcing local expertise.

Thanks for any advice that can be provided.

Cheers,

John
duetto
admiral
admiral

Re: Catch 22

Post by duetto »

hi,

we have/had victron, magnum, and xantrex. all allow you to adjust the maximum rate of charge which in turn will increase the load on genset. with that said i'm not sure the charger alone will provide the load you're looking for. when we run genset in addition to battery charging, we run water heater, electric stove, coffee maker, etc.

we have one of the original entec 4.2kw gensets, so getting the smaller genset to the 50-70% load is easier. years ago the owner of entec told me if possible run "rotary" loads (i.e. pumps, fans, etc) which leads you to ac. he said just turn it on to load up genset.
john & diane cummings
duetto mv34 #23
John&Ria
admiral
admiral

Post by John&Ria »